Charity Trustees are volunteers who make some of the most important decisions in Scouting. They are members of a group known as the Executive Committee and every Scout Group and District has one. 

The Executive Committee in Scouting is like a board of governors in a school; essentially it makes sure that the best quality Scouting is delivered to young people in the local area. The volunteers that make up the Committee give their time to ensure that Scouting continues to meet its charitable purpose: safely and legally.

Reasons to become an Executive Committee member

  1. You will help to support and develop local Scouting, allowing young people in the area to experience fun, friendship and everyday adventure.
  2. You will put your existing skills and experience to good use. 
  3. It’s a great way to meet new people.
  4. You will learn new skills that could help build your CV, or just add to your experience or confidence in certain areas.
  5. Your work will make a difference to young people involved in Scouting locally.

How much time will it take?

On average, Executive Committee members attend four to six meetings a year. 

The exact amount of time required will depend on the needs of local Scouting. Generally, dates of meetings will be agreed at the start of the year with all Executive Committee members, giving you the flexibility to say when you are available.

What skills or experience do I need?

All Executive Committee members have different skills to offer, come from different backgrounds and have varying experiences. This helps to ensure a variety of perspectives and a more rounded and effective Executive Committee. Skills and experience that can help include:

  • Professional management or business experience
  • Decision maker
  • Financial knowledge or experience
  • Legal knowledge
  • Social skills
  • Fundraising experience or knowledge
  • Administration or admin skills
For an informal in the first instance, please contact Kevin Wilson

Our Trustees

Nominated Members
  • Chair: Mark Walsh (2016)
  • Secretary: Maria Navin (2018)
  • <25 Rep: Kate Pratt (2015)
Ex-Officio Members
  • GSL: Steve Gibson (2016)
  • BSL: Jordan Pratt (2016)
  • Treasurer/CSL: John Edwards (2005)
  • SL: Helen Pounder (2015)
  • EL: Liam Martin (2016)
Elected Members
  • Mark Walsh (2015)
  • Sandra Hobson Tate (2013)
  • Jim Milley (2000)